North Eastern rewarded with top slot as KESSHA successfully adopts rotational leadership  

Murang'a High School Principal Willie Mwangi Kuria who was elected KESSHA Chairman in polls that were agreed upon beforehand.

The newly adopted rotational kind of leadership and negotiated democracy has now seen the North Eastern Region getting a substantive position in the just concluded Kenya Secondary School Heads Association (KESSHA) elections.

Abdi Noor Haji, Principal Sabunde Boys Secondary School in Wajir County, was duly elected KESSHA National Secretary.

This was after he was proposed by North Eastern KESSHA Regional Chairman and Chairman Mandera County Ali Hassan Ali and seconded by Kullow Hassan, Wajir Chairman.


Newly elected KESSHA Chairman Willy Mwangi and his vice Elyas Cheruyot.
Principal at the opening session of the on going KESSHA conference at Shelkh Zayed Hall in Mombasa.

Noor will be assisted by Omar Mwanahamisi from Coast region after being proposed and seconded by chairpersons of Taita Taveta and Kilifi counties respectively.

The position of Assistant National Organizing Secretary was given to Western region and will be held by Senende Boys High School’s Albert Masiolo Khalwale. He was proposed and seconded by chairpersons of Busia and Bungoma respectively.

The National Organizing Secretary was left to Nairobi region in the new arrangement and will be held by Pangani Girls Principal Florence Muthoni after she was proposed and seconded by Nairobi Regional and Embakasi chairpersons respectively.

Coast region’s TSC Director Juliet Kariuki makes her remarks at the official opening of the KESSHA conference.

The position of National Treasurer was given to Nyanza region with Joyce Omondi, Principal of Ahero Girls High School, being duly elected unopposed after being proposed and seconded by Homabay and Nyamira chairpersons

She will be assisted by Julius Mutwii from Eastern Region who was proposed by Tharaka Nithi County Chair and seconded by Embu Chair.

National Vice Chairperson was given to Rift Valley region, which will now be held by Elyas Kipkoech Cheruyot from Nandi County after the delegates accepted the proposal made by Cornelius Sigei, Rift Valley and Bomet County Chair.

The National Chairperson was left to Central Kenya, which will now be held by Murang’a High School’s High School Principal Willie Kuria Mwangi after his proposal was anonymously accepted by delegates.

The elections, which took a negotiated form rather than competitive polling during the first day of the KESSHA conference in Mombasa where all the candidates were unopposed, were presided over by Dr Reuben Nthamburi and Antonina Lentoijoni both from TSC, and one Sigei from the Ministry of Education (MoE).


BREAKING NEWS: Willie Kuria elected new KESSHA Chairperson

By Roy Hezron

You can also follow our social media pages on Twitter: Education News KE  and Facebook: Education News Newspaper for timely updates.

>>> Click here to stay up-to-date with trending regional stories

Sharing is Caring!
Don`t copy text!