Ministry establishes four committees to implement education taskforce report

TVET ENROLLMENT Ministry committees report
Education Cabinet Secretary Mr. Ezekiel Machogu speaking at a recent function.

Sharing is caring!

The Ministry of Education (MoE) has established four committees to ensure the effective and efficient implementation of recommendations by the Presidential Working Party on Education Reforms (PWPER).

The Ministry broke down the committees as follows; the Steering Committee, the Legal Committee, the Sessional Paper Committee, and the Departmental Technical Committee.

This was announced by Principal Secretary (PS) for Basic Education Dr. Belio Kipsang on behalf of Education Cabinet Secretary (CS) Ezekiel Machogu during a briefing on the status of the implementation of the PWPER report to members of the Departmental Committee on Education of the National Assembly led by Deputy Chairperson Malulu Injendi at a Mombasa hotel yesterday.

Leading the initiative is the Steering Committee whose role is to oversee the implementation of recommendations, offer policy guidelines and directions, mobilize resources for support and approve all policies and legislations before submission to the Cabinet.

Additionally, they are to regularly review progress reports from the Technical Committees and provide feedback throughout the implementation process.

The Committee membership is drawn from; the Executive Office of the President, Office of the Prime Cabinet Secretary, Council of Governors, Office of the Attorney General, PS-State Department for Higher Education and Research, PS-State Department for Technical and Vocational Education and Training, PS-State Department for Basic Education, CEO of SAGAs, CEO-Teachers Service Commission, National Treasury, Members of PWPER, and Director General Basic Education, Director University Education and the Director Technical Education.

The Legal Committee, consisting of legal officers from the Office of the Deputy President, Office of the Prime Cabinet Secretary, Office of the Attorney General, MOE, TSC and SAGAs from key government entities, will scrutinize and handle all legal and policy documents governing education in Kenya as per the PWPER recommendations.

The Sessional Paper Committee, comprising economists and technical officers from the MoE, will create a comprehensive roadmap for reform implementation.

The Departmental Technical Committees, chaired by Permanent Secretaries and comprising of technical officers from respective State Departments, will translate policies into tangible actions.

Also in attendance were the Principal Secretary for Higher Education and Research Dr. Beatrice Inyangala, the Principal Secretary for Technical, Vocational Education and Training, Dr. Esther Muoria, and the other Departmental Committee members.

By Viola Chepkemoi

Get more stories from our website: Education News 

To write to us or offer feedback, you can reach us at:

You can also follow our social media pages on Twitter: Education News KE  and Facebook: Education News Newspaper for timely updates.

>>> Click here to stay up-to-date with trending regional stories

Hits: 446

Leave a Reply

Don`t copy text!