Kericho MPs set to come up with a vibrant inter constituency football tournament

Lisbase Captain Robert Kibet aka Matasaka lifting the Benja Cup Trophy which they won. Flanked by Emurua Dikiir MP Johana Ngeno and Ainamoi legislator Benjamin Langat

Two Members of Parliament have set plans in motion to launch a vibrant Inter Constituency Football Tournament in order to tap the rich talents among the youths in the country.

Ainamoi MP Benjamin Langat and his Emurua Dikiir Counterpart Johana Ngeno called on the Ministry of Sports to put in place modalities that will help in the launch of the county’s football tournaments saying the inter counties tournaments will ensure continuity of the constituency-level tournaments and ensure the identification of young talents that can be promoted to the highest sporting levels.

The Ainamoi MP who was speaking at the Kipchimchim Grounds during the finals of the Benja Cup Tournament said the tourney should be used to identify and nurture young talents at the grassroots levels.

He congratulated the winning teams which included Lisbase FC who beat Kapsoit Elite FC 4-3 in post-match penalties, the Panthers Volleyball team from Kericho Town who won in the category and Ainamoi Starlets FC for winning the Women Football.

The Emurua Dikiir MP challenged the Sports Ministry to be sending scouts to the constituency tournaments to pick the best-emerging players.

The Tournament was also graced by Kericho Senator Aron Cheruiyot, Governor Dr. Erick Mutai, Women Rep. Mrs. Beatrice Kemei, Kipkelion West MP Hilary Kosgey, his Kipkelion East counterpart Joseph Cherorot, Bureti MP Kibet Komingoi and Members of County Assembly Martin Cheruiyot (Kapkugerwet), Erick Bett (Kichebor) and Philip Mutai (Kipchimchim).

The Senator said they will be organizing more tournaments in an effort to give more opportunities to youths to explore their talents.

He thanked the Ainamoi MP for organizing such a successful event and urged other leaders to do the same for the benefit of the youngsters.

Lisbase FC took home the top prize of Ksh 200,000 while the second-placed Kapsoit Elite FC got Ksh. 150.000 and third placed Itobei FC smiled to the bank with Ksh 100,000. Nyagacho FC was placed fourth.

Several other teams who emerged number one in the ward level walked away with a prize of Ksh. 30.000, second place scooped Ksh 15,000 and third place got the consolation prize of Ksh 5,000.

All the 126 participating teams got playing Uniforms while teams that were eliminated in the ward level each got a new ball.

By Benedict Ngetich

Get more stories from our website: Education News 

To write to us or offer feedback, you can reach us through:

You can also follow our social media pages on Twitter: Education News KE  and Facebook: Education News Newspaper  For timely updates.

Sharing is caring!

Don`t copy text!
Education News - Newspaper Vol 281