Delocalization plays key role in KESSHA elections in Trans Nzoia

Geoffrey Murunga, the immediate former Chair of KESSHA Trans Nzoia chapter.

The rescinded delocalization policy played a key role in the just concluded Trans Nzoia County Kenya Secondary Schools Heads Association (KESSHA) polls held in Kisumu and which unveiled a new line-up of officials.

It was difficult for those who had come from other counties recently, with the stakes favouring those principals who have been around for some time.

This was the case for Senior Principal John Mukongolo of Bwake Boys who had recently returned home from Bomet County. He lost the Treasurer seat to Eric Oluoch of Saiwa Secondary School because of the latter having a continuous stay in the county.

The same axe fell on Senior Principal Geoffrey Murunga whom many had considered a favourite. Being hardly three months old at Goseta Boys from Ortum in West Pokot, everything worked against him despite having served in several schools in the county such as St Benedict’s Kapsigilai and Sabwani Secondary.

There was also no mention of head teachers of prominent schools like Cosmas Nabungolo of St Joseph’s, Simon Masibo of St Anthony’s, Invioletta Lokorito of St Brigids’ Girls, Rose Pande of Kitale School, Emmanuel Mokoya, Judith Ngome (Dr) of Bwake Girls, Cornelius Mukwana of St Emmanuel Mixed Kwanza, Justus Nyang’au of Kipkekei Boys, and Martin Masika of Makutano/ Cherangany.

Trans Nzoia County principals during the annual KESSHA conference in Kisumu. It was hard for those returning home from delocalization to clinch a seat in the election of office bearers for the next three years.

The over 240 principals from Kitale West/Saboti (44), Kitale East/Cherangany (74), Kiminini (56), Kwanza (47) and Endebess (22), however, distributed almost equally the eight seats to all the electoral areas while also observing the 2/3 gender rule.

The seat of chairman was won by Bernard Masinde from Sirende Friends. Grace Ataro from St Monica Girls’-Vice chairperson, Julius Kivaze from Benon- Secretary and Joan Azangalala of Titimet Girls’ –Vice Secretary.

Others were Eric Oluoch of Saiwa Secondary school-Treasurer, Sarah Mwangi from Immaculate Hearts Girls- Vice Treasurer, and Mary Mutiny of Naisambu Girls – Organizing-Secretary deputized by Alloys Nyagechi of St Augustine Bondeni.

Apart from Ataro, Mutiny and Kivaze, the rest are all new faces elected into office serving for a term of three years that takes effect immediately.

In reaching the decision to send new faces into office, the secondary school head teachers might have been prompted by the idea of not electing officials who were approaching retirement ages to avoid future interruptions for by-elections.

Another reason could have been the recycling of officials who failed to protect the welfare and interest of KESSHA members. The secondary school administrators also realized the need to encompass in the management of the association all the tribes residing in the cosmopolitan area.


KU VC tenure ends as controversial don proceeds to annual leave

By our reporter

To write to us or offer feedback, you can reach us at:

You can also follow our social media pages on Twitter: Education News KE  and Facebook: Education News Newspaper for timely updates.

>>> Click here to stay up-to-date with trending regional stories


Sharing is caring!

Don`t copy text!
Education News - Newspaper Vol 281